Living In The Past

OK, so our internet connection is back on.  For the past seven days we have had no internet at home and it was rather uncomfortable at times.  There were moments when it worked, but nothing substantial, and the wireless was completely gone. When we go on a vacation we leave the technology and try to get away, but when one is already ‘away’ it is meaningful to be in touch with the global world as opposed to just living in our little bubble.  I could check emails at work, but with so many pouring in I just answered those that were pressing and read the rest.  It was only a week, but we feel that we fell behind a bit.

It is cold here.  Really cold.  Threat of snow is on the news, but I feel that snow will be a longshot, though again it is really cold.  We all have some thermal clothing for underneath our clothes which helps, but I wonder when the real cold begins.  Maybe it is now?  Last week we had some severe rain, and flooding occurred throughout the country.  I noticed as I drove around that there are not a lot of storm drains, as the idea is for the water to drain to the nearest water source, usually a creek or a river.  Well those rivers rose to record levels and many people were flooded out.  We are on a sloped street, with the river Eye at the end of the road (downhill), so flooding will never be an issue for us.

I am coaching the Waltham basketball team.  There are eight kids on the team, six Year 5’s and two Year 4’s.  Five girls and three boys.  We have been practicing now for just over a week, starting with twenty players but now down to our team of eight.  We will be participating in a tournament at Belvoir High School next Thursday.  One of the interesting things is that all our practices occur during school hours, so my class must blend in with another as I am coaching.  Our tournament is during school hours as well, and a coach (bus) will be picking us up. Another teacher will have to cover my class whilst I am gone.

I assume that the coach will be full of other village schools, taking us all to the High School to play.  There are two levels, the village schools and the city schools (which are larger).  Our team looks good, but really I don’t have anything to measure them up against.  I do know that when asked to coach I wholeheartedly agreed.  I coach my son’s baseball team back home, and I do have some experience coaching soccer.  The bottom line is for these kids to have some fun, and I get the chance to do something new.

Speaking of new I began my Henry VIII unit this week.  I have been working on it for weeks, collecting and creating a series of PowerPoints, art projects, writing work, and even an assembly (a play).  The kids are enthusiastic for the learning so I am not worried about what I put in front of them.  But I am thinking of January already, since my new workload will include teaching swimming at the Melton pool, teaching about ancient Egypt, getting through book one in our Recorder music book, and much more.  Teaching in general has been so much more smooth since mid-term break.  Those first eight weeks were really rough for many reasons, but now I am sorted and I really think I know what is best for my students.  My big fear is that I will have it completely understood….by the time I need to return home.

In flipping through my photos I see that there is much I have not written about, but at the same time I guess I cannot write about everything I do.  I will just try and report on the adventures that really stick out.

Here are some random photos from past adventures…

Ancient windmill near our home.

Ancient windmill near our home.

021

Standoff with the cows. This happened on a public footpath. They charged over and cut the path off from us. Rebecca thought they were being friendly, but I felt much differently. As the kids moved towards them they moved, in unison, towards us. I left the scene and convinced my family to follow suit. A student told me later that if there was a calf (which there was) then they were in a protective mode and probably thought we were a threat. The cows were pretty big.

Watching the Leicester Tigers rugby team.  They beat the London Irish.  Twenty one of us associated with Waltham Primary went.  My kids were kind of bored, as they did not really understand what was going on.

Watching the Leicester Tigers rugby team. They beat the London Irish. Twenty one of us associated with Waltham Primary went. My kids were kind of bored, as they did not really understand what was going on.

074

075

This is the prison in Leicester!  It looks like something right out of Disneyland, smack in the middle of the city.  Our British friends told us it is a serious prison, very old, and not Disneyland.  I think my humor gets lost on the British I know.

This is the prison in Leicester! It looks like something right out of Disneyland, smack in the middle of the city. Our British friends told us it is a serious prison, very old, and not Disneyland. I think my humor gets lost on the British I know.

Mini Pony!!

Mini Pony!!

One thought on “Living In The Past

  1. I really enjoy your posts! You are living in an alternate universe, similar, but interestingly different. Keep up the great posts. Jim

Leave a Reply

