What’s In The Pantry?

Whilst eating our delicious dinner of homemade enchiladas, I started thinking about some of the unique food items that we have in our kitchen.

Salsa comes in a squeeze bottle, and it is not half bad!

Salsa comes in a squeeze bottle, and it is not half bad! Notice the excellent enchiladas being consumed.

What we call tortillas.

What we call tortillas.

Brown sauce is all the rage.  Kind of like a malt vinegar ketchup.  This bottle, made with Guinness, came from Scotland and we cannot find it down here.  Hopefully I can find some in Ireland and bring it back.  Heck, maybe I can send a case to America?

Brown sauce is all the rage. Kind of like a malt vinegar ketchup. This bottle, made with Guinness, came from Scotland and we cannot find it down here. Hopefully I can find some in Ireland and bring it back. Heck, maybe I can send a case to America?

I think the best sausages are the Lincolnshire style.  They just taste good.

I think the best sausages are the Lincolnshire style. They just have a good all around taste.

The British I know do not like Marmite, but I don't find it that bad.  Kind of like the Australia's Vegemite.  Very salty, but I like it on toast with butter.

The British I know do not like Marmite, but I don’t find it that bad. Kind of like the Australia’s Vegemite. Very salty, but I like it on toast with butter.

Priory cheeses are made just up the road from us.  Quite good with many flavours.

Priory cheeses are made just up the road from us. Quite good with many flavours.

Can't find German sauerkraut, but Polish kraut is abundant.  Tastes the same...

Can’t find German sauerkraut, but Polish kraut is abundant. Tastes the same…

Indian food is very popular, and spicy lime pickle comes on the table.  Basically it is marinated lime peels and some other stuff.  Weird tasting, but strangely appetizing.  Kids don't like it at all.

Indian food is very popular, and spicy lime pickle comes on the table at the restaurant. Basically it is marinated lime peels and some other stuff. Weird tasting, but strangely appetizing. Kids don’t like it at all.

Photos are not that great, but at least you get a peek at our dietary habits.  We are eating quite well and Rebecca has turned into a fine chef de cuisine.  I actually hoped my trousers would fit a bit looser, but that has yet to occur.  Maybe I need to get out running again…

5 thoughts on “What’s In The Pantry?

  1. Jeff , many thanks: most people wanted even think of doing what you did. Shooting photos of a well-presented plate in a restaurant, yes.
    However, I DO hope you will eventually do us the favour of returning to ‘murican spelling when you get back!Think of how much ink/money you will save without having to put in that extra “u.” Bruce the Bald

  2. In the 1990’s, we encountered a Safeway in Gibraltar, and felt like we were in Britain south of Spain. On a different trip, our B&B hosts in Dunleary (Dun Laoghaire), Wicklow County, west of Dublin, fed us haggis. I rudely remarked how unhealthy it probably was. I wish I could have some more.

  3. It’s wonderful to be open to new edible items. Those English have been at it a long time and have brought in foods from the whole world.

Leave a Reply

